The 1959 Comets Baseball Team



The 1959 Comet baseball team, coached by the legendary Al Meyer, included athletes who are familiar in Comet athletic history. Many are in the Mayville State Athletic Hall of Fame as individuals. The team won the Eastern Division of the conference, and defeated Minot State to advance to the NAIA playoffs. After defeating Black Hills Teachers College, they moved on to the regional in Emporia, Kan., where they won two games before losing twice to Omaha. They were one step away from the national finals. 

Pictured from left to right, Row 1: Jim Bisenius, Mike Bill, Darryl Gulbranson, Donald McIntyre, Alden Holte, Gary Bjerke, Dallas Kopp, Coach Al Meyer. Row 2: Manager Jerry Fleming, Rex Haugen, Jim McChesney, Don Ostenson, Howard Strom, Donald Overbo, Dennis Fogelson. Row 3: Willard "Red" Jacobson, Stanley Barta, Mike Strand, Graydon Rostberg, Kenneth Nessa, Dennis Kiedrowski.






Darin Everson


Darin Everson distinguished himself in two sports at Mayville State, earning many honors as a catcher on the baseball team and as the quarterback for football. In baseball he was an NAIA All-American catcher, all-conference, all-district, and district player of the year on the 1992 and 1993 teams. Both teams were conference and regional champions. He led the 1993 MSU Athletic Hall of Fame team to a runner-up finish in the national regional finals. He was the team MVP as a senior. In football, he was the starting quarterback and earned honorable mention all-conference honors. After graduating with a major in physical education in 1995, he continued to distinguish himself as a professional baseball player, minor league baseball coach, manager, and clinician.  


Mike Mahlen


Mike Mahlen, a 1969 MSU graduate, played football for the Comets from 1965 to 1968. He was named all-conference in 1967 and 1968 and earned all-district team honors in 1968. He was the Comets’ leading tackler in 1967 and 1968, and he was named co-captain his senior year and selected team MVP as well. A physical education and health major, he began a highly successful career as a coach, athletic director, and teacher at Verndale, Minn., where his football teams advanced to the Minnesota state tournament 14 times, winning the championship twice. He garnered several coaching and athletic director honors, which earned him membership in the Mayville State Athletic Coaches Hall of Fame.   


Kathy Maltrud


Kathy Maltrud, a 1989 graduate, was a standout player on Comet volleyball teams, where she was a four-year letter winner. She won all-conference honors all four years, was named to the all-district team, was an all-conference MVP, and was named an NAIA District 12 player of the week. A team captain, she garnered team MVP, defensive player, offensive player and, “most dedicated” awards. She was a two-year letter winner in track. Other honors include being awarded the Sorensen Scholar-Athlete Award, being named to “Who’s Who in American Colleges and Universities,” and graduating summa cum laude with a major in mathematics.  


Robin (Brantl) Torkelson


Robin (Brantl) Torkelson, an elite four-year varsity starter in volleyball (1987-1990), was an all-around player who specialized in power-hitting and defense. Her prowess was recognized in the WACND Conference, Northern Sub-District 12, and at tournaments. An honor student, she was named an NAIA All-American scholar-athlete. The National Strength and Conditioning Association selected her as an “All-American Athlete” in her senior year. She set individual records at Mayville State and earned all-conference, all-district, NDCAC most valuable graduating volleyball player, and Mayville State MVP honors, and was awarded the Sorensen Scholar-Athlete Award. Robin was selected to “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.” She completed a degree in elementary education in 1992, graduating magna cum laude.