Teresa Agnes.jpgMay 16, 2023

Teresa Agnes was named the recipient of the Mayville State University Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award for 2023. Agnes is the administrative assistant for the Division of Education. The award was presented at Mayville State’s employee recognition dinner held on Wednesday, May 3, 2023.

The Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award is given to an employee who shows outstanding dedication, loyalty, and trustworthiness toward Mayville State University and his or her fellow employees. Each year, staff members nominate and select a fellow employee to receive the distinguished award.

A fellow Mayville State employee who nominated Teresa for the award had this to say about her,
“She is such a bright light! She is always positive, kind, and helpful. Every time I have a question for someone in the Division of Education, I don’t even have to ask them because I see Teresa first and she always knows the answer and is willing to help. Teresa contributes so much to Mayville State!”

Orville Johnson is remembered as a faithful Mayville State employee who worked as a custodian from 1959 until his retirement in 1980. Orville passed away on December 17, 1986. Upon his death, his family donated his United States military service flag and $10,000 to Mayville State. The monetary donation is used to help honor and recognize MayvilleState staff members.

As the recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year, Teresa’s name will be engraved on the Orville Johnson plaque (located in the lobby of the Mayville State Campus Center). She also received a framed award certificate and a $75.00 gift certificate to be spent at the Mayville State University Bookstore.

Other nominees for the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year were Doug Eastman, Nick Flesland, Sharyl Hanson, Shannon Hofer, Heather Hoyt, Dawn Huard, Tracy Juhnke, Lois Karlstad, Craig Keating, Katherine Keating, Kelly Kornkven, Katie Richards, Mary Trudeau, Ashley Williams, and Teri Wright.

Past recipients of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award are Art Berglie, T. Howard Moen, Phyllis Dakken, Vrenda Bengtson, Avis Larson, Betty Karaim, Ken Eken, Janet Nielson, Rodney Gunderson, Brad Papenfuss, Karoline Jacobson, Marina “Winky” Gummer, Janice Sand, Becky Edinger, Beverly Holt, Janice Jorgensen, Andrea Knudson, Jim Lyng, Beth Swenson, Rendi Johnson-Ebach, Nancy Galde, Claudia Hastings, Dean Kostuck, Bryan Karolus, Tom Moen, Bev Holt, Lou Dauphanais,  Marge Fugleberg, Alice Rice, Rick Karboviak, Misti Wuori, Lois Karlstad, Cheryl Angen, Bob Kozojed, and Doug Eastman.