As an associate of the North Dakota Space Grant Consortium, Mayville State University encourages students to become involved in science, mathematics, and technology. Awarding scholarships to outstanding students is one of the ways in which this is accomplished. Scholarships which are designated for students pursuing STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) degrees that support NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) research and technology needs are presented.

Recipients of the NASA scholarships awarded at Mayville State University for the Spring Semester of 2016 are Bennie Bradner, Portland, N.D.; Summer Dearinger, Walhalla, N.D.; Jacob Eaton, Roseau, Minn.; Alicia Gibson, Mayville, N.D.; Karissa Hanson, East Grand Forks, Minn.; Elizabeth Hoglo, Thief River Falls, Minn.; Maren A. (Alex) Johnson, Mayville, N.D.; Jacob Leier, Thief River Falls, Minn.; Brooklyn Miller, Richardton, N.D.; Katelyn Ogburn, Mayville, N.D.; and Taylor Plautz, Bluffton, Minn.

The North Dakota NASA Space Grant Consortium fulfills the Space Grant mission by involving North Dakota faculty, students, and K-12 teachers and students in multi-institution, collaborative, NASA-relevant research and higher education projects, while also educating the North Dakota citizenry about NASA, its purpose, and its missions. Activities of the consortium demonstrably increase the qualified STEM and technical workforce that is necessary to accomplish NASA’s goals while also contributing to the general education and welfare of the North Dakota populace.