Mayville State Collegiate DECA at international conference.jpgEighteen Mayville State University Collegiate DECA students participated in the International Career Development Conference in Orlando, Fla. April 14-17. The annual conference provides the opportunity for students to compete against others from all over the world in business-specific events. MSU students had to qualify for the Orlando conference at the state competition held in Fargo, N.D. this past February.

Jace Pederson and Ben Myszkowski were recognized individually for their contributions to the state of North Dakota with the Outstanding State Leadership ribbon.

The MSU team received a chapter leadership award and 20 total DECA members received individual leadership recognition on the stage at the Orlando Hilton ballroom during the Leadership Passport Awards ceremony. The Collegiate DECA Leadership Passport Program encourages local chapters and individual members to plan activities and participate in events that enhance the experiences of members. The Leadership Passport rewards action taken by members and chapters who build professional skill sets focused around the organization’s four attributes and values: competence, innovation, integrity, and teamwork.

Results from the competitions are as follows:

  • Financial Statement Analysis

Cole Dukart and Kiana Johnson - Top 10 Finalist;

  • Business Research

Jace Pederson, Jayden Miller, and Marcus Wohl - Top 10 Finalist;

  • Sport & Entertainment Marketing

Josh Erfle and Josh Stoltman - Top 10 Finalist;

  • International Marketing

Jesse O’Connell and Creighton Pfau - Top 10 Finalist;

  • Entrepreneurship – Growing Your Business

Emma Poehls (MSU student/Lake Region State College DECA member) - 3rd place.

“As a chapter, we sincerely thank all for the support they have given to our organization,” said MSU Collegiate DECA adviser Rob Johnston. “Without your help, our students would not have been able to take part in the great learning opportunity that is ICDC.”

Photo caption: 

    Mayville State students and advisers who attended the International Career Development Conference April 14-17 were:

    Back rows (l-r): Rob Johnston, adviser; Cole Dukart, Killdeer, N.D.; Dustin Olson, adviser; Kianna Johnson, Hector, Minn.; Jace Pederson, Hatton, N.D.; Hannah Lundwall, Hatton, N.D.; Brendon Salander, Argusville, N.D.; Jacob Niemann, Grafton, N.D.; Ben Johnson, Northwood, N.D.; Josh Stoltman, Minto, N.D.; Creighton Pfau, West Fargo, N.D.; Jesse O’Connell, Sydney, Mont.; Marcus Wohl, West Fargo, N.D.; Ben Myszkowski, Hatton, N.D.; Donna Gutschmidt, adviser; and Jaclyn Rindy, Portland, N.D.

    Front row: Abby Kohls, Mayvillle, N.D.; Jackie White, Portland, N.D.; Josh Erfle, New Salem, N.D.; Jayden Miller, Hazen, N.D.; and Jamison Mozey, Niagara, N.D.