The search for a new president to lead Mayville State University was launched Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017. Current president, Dr. Gary Hagen, has announced his plan to retire at the end of July in 2018, after more than four decades at the university.

The firm AGB Search ( is directing the search process, which began with listening sessions with various constituents, including faculty, staff, students, alumni, MSU Foundation representatives, legislators, and members of the public, early in November. Their feedback was related to the university’s strengths and challenges, as well as the kind of leadership that is a best fit for the four-year institution, and was used to create a unique leadership description for use in advertising the position of president of Mayville State University.

The first meeting of the search committee was held Tuesday, Nov. 7. Co-chairs of the search committee are Dr. Casey Ryan, member of the State Board of Higher Education, and Dr. Andrea Dulski-Bucholz, assistant professor of education and dean and chair of the Division of Education at Mayville State University. Representing the faculty of Mayville State University on the search committee is Rob Johnston, associate professor of business. Staff representatives are Beth Swenson, Director of Marketing and Public Relations and Director of Alumni Affairs, and Mindy O’Connor, admissions coordinator and veterans certifying official. Donte Stevens is representing the students, while Dr. Andrew Pflipsen, Vice President for Student Affairs, is representing the MSU vice presidents. Ernie Strube, MSU Foundation executive board member, is representing the university alumni/foundation constituents, and Mike Holmes, director and technical advisor with the Lignite Research Development and Marketing Program - North Dakota Industrial Commission and Mayville State graduate, represents MSU’s external constituents. Dr. Doug Darling, president of Lake Region State College, is an ex-officio, non-voting member of the committee and a senior North Dakota University System (NDUS) representative. NDUS Chancellor Dr. Mark Hagerott is also an ex-officio, non-voting member of the committee.

Dr. James McCormick and Janice Fitzgerald, consultants for AGB Search, are contracted to assist in this presidential search process. Terry Meyer, NDUS Chancellor’s executive assistant, is also assisting throughout the search process.

Search committee co-chair Dr. Dulski Bucholz said, “Dr. Ryan and I are looking for this search process to attract a highly qualified pool of candidates for the position of Mayville State University president.”

The next meeting of the search committee is scheduled for Feb. 1, 2018, when top candidates for the position will be identified for subsequent search committee interviews.

The committee has been charged with referring final candidates to Chancellor Mark Hagerott, who will then forward recommendations to the State Board of Higher Education (SBHE). The SBHE is scheduled to meet at Mayville State on March 27, 2018, when they will interview finalists and extend an offer to the successful candidate.

Nominations and applications for the position of president of Mayville State University should be sent electronically to (MS Word or PDF format). Additional university information may be found at and The AGB consultants may be contacted at 651-238-5188, or 717-580-0663,