Mayville State University Child Development Programs will receive $1,117,837 in the first year of funding in a new Early Head Start-Child Care Partnership grant for North Dakota. The Administration for Children and Families in Washington, D.C. announced in December of 2014 that Mayville State was a preliminary winner of the grant. The university is one of 234 organizations nationwide selected to receive this funding. More than 700 applications were received. The grant is funded on a five-year cycle.

“This comes at an opportune time,” said Mayville State Child Development Programs Executive Director Allison Johnson. “Child care access for infants and toddlers, especially in the Grand Forks area, is desperately needed.”

Mayville State University will partner with several center-based child care centers in Traill, Steele, Griggs, Nelson, Walsh, and Grand Forks Counties, expanding current child care opportunities. Sixty-four additional children, birth to age three, will be served through this first year of funding.

Mayville State is collaborating with Child Care Aware of North Dakota and the Quality Rating and improvement System (QRIS) project, the Department of Public Instruction, the North Dakota Department of Human Services, Children and Family Services and Economic Assistance Policy Division through this grant-funded project.

“Mayville State University is excited to be ‘paving the way’ in providing collaborative, affordable, and comprehensive early care and education services to more infants and toddlers,” said Mayville State University President Dr. Gary Hagen. “Through this project, we are helping to expand the early care and education workforce and impact systematic changes across North Dakota.”

Mayville State University has also received notification of its first installment ongoing Head Start and Early Head Start award for the 2015-2016 program year. Annual funding amounts to $1,920,366, and provides services for children from birth to age five from 172 low income families across Traill, Steele, Griggs, Nelson, and Grand Forks Counties.