The Mayville State alumni of Pembina County/Hoople recently completed their annual fundraiser for scholarships. Proceeds will be awarded for the 2017-2018 school term. To be eligible to receive a scholarship, students must have graduated from North Border, Cavalier, Drayton, St. Thomas, or Valley-Edinburg High Schools in North Dakota and be enrolled at Mayville State University.

This year’s recipients are seniors Emmalee Hall, North Border-Pembina High School, elementary education major; Abbie O’Hara, Cavalier High School, elementary education major; and Austin Volk, North Border-Pembina, sports management major.  Sophomores who will receive scholarships are Benjamin Phelps and Racheal Wright, both graduates of Valley-Edinburg High School, majoring in fitness and wellness and elementary education respectively.

Pembina County alumni who sold calendar raffle tickets in the fundraiser are Garnet Furstenau, Barb and Pat Mahar, Mandy Heuchert, JoDee Dungan, Doug Anderson, and Ann Kraft from Cavalier; Cleone Whelan, Steve Kristjanson, Faye Ramsey, and Shelly Erlendson from Crystal; Mark Olson and Butch Leedahl from Grafton and Hoople; Joe ad Nancy Defoe from Neche/Pembina; Murph Thompson from Drayton; Bernie Kopf and Teresa Bjornstad from Walhalla; and Brent Baldwin from St. Thomas. Kelly Morrison sold tickets at Mayville State.

Since 1993, Mayville State alumni of Pembina County/Hoople have raised $82,900 which has been awarded to 221 scholarship recipients. Throughout the county and Hoople/Edinburg, alumni also support special events such as the annual Farmers Bowl Auction, Tables du Jour fundraiser, the Annual Fund Drive, general and family scholarships, and the Comet Athletic Club. These alumni also attend special events such as homecoming, the Fine Arts Series concerts, and theater productions. Some also serve on Alumni Association and Foundation Boards and host socials. Pembina County/Hoople alumni also sponsored the Pembina County/Hoople Hospitality Room in Mayville State’s Edson and Margaret Larson Alumni and Leadership Center, which opened in 2014.

Mayville State University Alumni of Pembina County/Hoople are among MSU’s major partners in terms of support and dedication. With around 300 alumni, Pembina County has the fifth-largest number of MSU alumni living in North Dakota counties.