Collegiate DECA state conference 2023.jpg

Back Row (Left to Right): Advisor Dustin Olson, Connor Fields, Sam Preston, Logan Hoff, Sam Grayson, Jamison Kramer, and advisor Rob Johnston.
Middle Row: Samantha Passa, Ellie Reierson, Taylor Stegman, Gunnar Petersen, Josh Dohman, Logan Maus, Logan Sherva, and Julia Kohls.
Front Row: Miriam Carignan, Brooke Roeges, Jamison Zaun, Lauryn Wolfgram, Leighton Wolfgram, and Breck Fugleberg.
Not pictured: Brennen Beaudin.

February 17, 2023

Mayville State University Collegiate DECA students participated in the North Dakota Collegiate DECA Career Development Conference in Fargo Feb. 9 and 10, 2023. The annual state conference provided an opportunity for students to compete in business-related events against 135 of their peers representing nine other North Dakota colleges and universities. 

The Mayville State students made a strong impact at this year’s conference, qualifying 20 out of the 20 students who participated for the international competition to be held in Orlando, Fla. in April.

“We had an awesome time this year getting ALL of our travel team to qualify for the international conference,” said Mayville State Collegiate DECA Advisor and Professor of Business Rob Johnston. Johnston advises the group together with MSU Professor of Business Dustin Olson.

 “We are really proud of this year’s team. They worked really hard. Veteran members stepped up and helped our newbie members get ready, mentoring them and preparing them for what to expect during the two-day state conference. Their advice included information about possible case studies and even what to expect from the judges. It’s nice to see students helping each other succeed.”

Results are as follows:

Financial Accounting: 2nd Place - Logan Maus, Thompson, N.D.

Entrepreneurship Operations: 1st Place - Samuel Grayson, Ispwich, Queensland, Australia.

Managerial Accounting: 4th Place - Joshua Dohman, Shelly, Minn.

Fashion Merchandising: 2nd Place - Samantha Passa, Barnesville, Minn.; 3rd Place - Ellie Reierson, Frazee, Minn.

Hotel and Lodging: 2nd Place - Brooke Roeges, Baldur, Manitoba.

Human Resource Management: 1st Place - Julia Kohls, Mayville, N.D.; 2nd Place - Lauryn Wolfgram, Thompson, N.D.; 4th Place - Jamison Zaun, Wahpeton, N.D.

Marketing Management: 1st Place - Logan Sherva, Northwood, N.D.; 3rd Place - Gunnar Petersen, Mayville, N.D.

Restaurant and Food Service: 3rd Place - Sam Preston, Hillsboro, N.D.

Travel and Tourism: 1st Place - Connor Fields, Thompson, N.D.

Retail Management: 2nd Place - Taylor Stegman, Drayton, N.D.; 4th Place - Logan Hoff, Richardton, N.D.

Sales Management Meeting: 1st Place - Miriam Carignan, Walhalla, N.D.

Professional Sales: 1st Place - Brooke Roeges, Baldur, Manitoba; 2nd Place - Julia Kohls, Mayville, N.D.; 4th Place - Jamison Zaun, Wahpeton, N.D.

Business Ethics: 2nd Place - Julia Kohls, Mayville, N.D., and Lauryn Wolfgram, Thompson, N.D.

Financial Statement Analysis: 2nd Place - Brooke Roeges, Baldur, Manitoba, and Joshua Dohman, Shelly, Minn.

International Marketing: 1st Place - Jamison Kramer, Marion, N.D., and Samuel Grayson, Ispwich, Queensland, Australia.

Marketing Communications: 1st Place - Jamison Zaun, Wahpeton, N.D., and Miriam Carignan, Walhalla, N.D.

Sports and Entertainment Marketing: 1st Place - Brennen Beaudin, Northwood, N.D., and Logan Hoff, Richardton, N.D.; 2nd Place - Connor Fields, Thompson, N.D., and Logan Maus, Thompson, N.D.; 4th Place - Gunnar Petersen, Mayville, N.D., and Logan Sherva, Northwood, N.D.

Event Planning: 1st Place - Sam Preston, Hillsboro, N.D., and Taylor Stegman, Drayton, N.D.; 2nd Place - Breck Fugleberg, Portland, N.D., and Leighton Wolfgram, Thompson, N.D.

Julia Kohls and Lauryn Wolfgram also brought home the North Dakota Collegiate DECA Outstanding Service Award. This Chapter Leadership Award is designed to recognize Collegiate DECA student members for their leadership in their community, on their campus, and with their chapter.

The North Dakota Collegiate DECA Community Service Award was awarded to the Mayville State University chapter. This Community Service Award recognizes chapters for their civic activities at the International Career Development Conference.

The successful conference was capped off with the announcement that Miriam Carignan and Samantha Passa were elected to state officer positions. Miriam will serve as president of North Dakota Collegiate DECA and Samantha will serve as vice president for North Dakota Collegiate DECA for the 2023-24 school year.

“I am so very proud of our Collegiate DECA students,” said Mayville State University President Dr. Brian Van Horn. “These are hard-working and conscientious students who represent our university at the highest level. Seeing them succeed and have opportunities to compete at the international level is wonderful! I commend the students and their advisors for the work they do and I could not be more happy about them receiving well-deserved recognition for their achievements.”