Lois Karlstad was named the recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award athe annual Mayville State University employee recognition banquet held Wednesday evening, May 1, 2019. Karlstad is an accounts payable technician in the business office at Mayville State.

The Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award is given to an employee who shows outstanding dedication, loyalty, and trustworthiness toward MayvilleStateUniversity and his or her fellow employees. Each year, staff members nominate and select a fellow employee to receive the distinguished award.

The fellow Mayville State employee who nominated Lois for the award had this to say about her, “Lois goes above and beyond every day. She is a true advocate for our university. She is a dedicated employee who ensures to the best of her ability that all matters are handled with a friendly face and great positive energy. Her work with the students and the public is above and beyond. She truly does care about MSU.”

Orville Johnson is remembered as a faithful Mayville State employee who worked as a custodian from 1959 until his retirement in 1980. Orville passed away on December 17, 1986. Upon his death, his family donated his United States military service flag and $10,000 to MayvilleState. The monetary donation is used to help honor and recognize MayvilleState staff members.

As the recipient of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year, Lois’s name will be engraved on the Orville Johnson plaque (located in the lobby of the Mayville State Campus Center). She also received a framed award certificate and a $75.00 gift certificate to be spent at the Mayville State University Bookstore.

Other nominees for the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award this year were Cheryl Angen, Chris Gonnella, Jessi Hegg, Dean Kostuck, Katie Richards, and Pam Soholt.

Past recipients of the Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award are Art Berglie, T. Howard Moen, Phyllis Dakken, Vrenda Bengtson, Avis Larson, Betty Karaim, Ken Eken, Janet Nielson, Rodney Gunderson, Brad Papenfuss, Karoline Jacobson, Marina “Winky” Gummer, Janice Sand, Becky Edinger, Beverly Holt, Janice Jorgensen, Andrea Knudson, Jim Lyng, Beth Swenson, Rendi Johnson-Ebach, Nancy Galde, Claudia Hastings, Dean Kostuck, Bryan Karolus, Tom Moen, Bev Holt, Lou Dauphanais,  Marge Fugleberg, Alice Rice, Rick Karboviak, and Misti Wuori.