Julia Kohls Student of Year.jpgMay 2, 2023

Julia Kohls and Evan Kritzberger have been named Mayville State University’s 2022-23 Students of the Year. Julia represents the undergraduate population, while Evan represents Mayville State students seeking graduate degrees. Mayville State University awards Students of the Year annually. After a nomination process, selections are made by a committee appointed by the Student Senate.

Julia Kohls will graduate from Mayville State this spring with majors in agribusiness and business administration and a specialization in marketing. A native of Mayville, Julia has thrived at Mayville State. She has been a member of the Collegiate DECA organization, with which she has served the vice president of public relations. She also served as the state Collegiate DECA president. She has received numerous honors and awards at the local, state, and international level, and recently finished as one of the top 10 in the world in recent international competition. Julia is employed as a researcher in Mayville State’s labs. She and her research team have had the opportunity to present their award-winning work at conferences. After graduation, Julia plans to stay in Traill County and pursue a degree in agriculture.

Evan Kritzberger.jpgEvan Kritzberger earned two bachelor’s degrees in education from Mayville State University in 2020. He is now pursuing the Master of Education in Innovative Teaching Practices degree online. The Hillsboro, N.D. native taught sixth grade in Wilton, N.D. for one year and now teaches high school social studies in LaMoure, N.D. He looks forward to continuing to serve his students and the state of North Dakota as a teacher.

Other nominees for the Mayville State Student of the Year in 2022-23 were Brennen Beaudin, Northwood, N.D.; Tucker Bercier, Saint John, N.D.; Austin Braun, McVille, N.D.; Grace Burrell, Crystal, N.D.; Ava Butler, Mountain Iron, Minn.; Miriam Carignan, Walhalla, N.D.; Kristal Charfauros, Box Elder, S.D.; Chloe Cordahl, Mayville, N.D.; Sidney Fairbanks, Evergreen, Colo.; Connor Fields, Thompson, N.D.; Michael Freeberg, Portland, N.D.; Hailey Giacomini, Cloquet, Minn.; Marie Heyer, Fergus Falls, Minn.; Logan Hoff, Richardton, N.D.; Krista Hogfoss, Osnabrock, N.D.; Kristin Jennings; Kaydon Kenfield, Red Lake Falls, Minn.; Grant Kocher, Crosby, N.D.; Micaela Kocher, Crosby, N.D.; Nicole Krotran; Mattison Matthys, Argusville, N.D.; Baylie Norris; Taylor Painter, Enderlin, N.D.; Alize Pratt, Kahuku, Hawaii; Ashley Rambousek, Dickinson, N.D.; Brooke Roeges, Baldur, Manitoba; Kaia Schluchter, Cavalier, N.D.; Logan Sherva, Northwood, N.D.; Riley Wass, Devils Lake, N.D.; Lauryn Wolfgram, Thompson, N.D.; and Jamison Zaun, Wahpeton, N.D.