platform_party-web.jpgMayville State University’s 125th commencement was held Saturday afternoon, May 13. More than 200 individuals were recognized. This included those who had completed the requirements for their degrees at the end of the fall semester of 2016 or the spring semester of 2017, and others who will complete their degree requirements at the end of the summer session of 2017 or the fall semester of 2017.

Dawn Cruff, 1991 Mayville State University graduate, Fargo, N.D., delivered the keynote address. emeritus_faculty-web.jpgSpeakers representing the graduates were Kristin Reinowski, Anamoose, N.D., and Anthony Stockfish, Murrieta, Calif. North Dakota State Board of Higher Education member Greg Stemen, Oakes, N.D., brought greetings on behalf of the board, and Pastor Randy Mortenson of Ebenezer Lutheran Church, Mayville, delivered the invocation and benediction.

Leading the faculty and graduates in the procession were emeritus faculty members Dr. Merwin Lyng, Dr. Ron Semmens, Dr. Carol Enger, Dr. Ray Gerszewski, Dr. Paul Batesel, and Dr. Rick Holman. This marked the 59th Mayville State commencement in which Dr. Lyng has participated, and the 47th for Dr. Semmens.

Anthony_Stockfish-web.jpgGraduation day festivities began with the traditional graduation brunch, hosted by the MSU Alumni Association and sponsored by Gate City Bank. The event serves as the official alumni activity for the new graduates and was attended by the graduates, along with their family members and friends. About 350 attended the brunch, and thanks to the generous sponsorship of Gate City Bank, the brunch was complimentary for all who attended.

Student speakers at the brunch were Taylor Benneweis, Enderlin, N.D., Louis Bongiovanni, Woodend, Victoria, Australia, and Erin Olson, Grand Forks, N.D.

To see a video documenting Mayville State’s 125th commencement, go to The video is available on demand.

Kristin_Reinowich-web.jpgPhoto Captions: 

Top: The platform party at Mayville State’s 2017 commencement included (l-r) President Dr. Gary Hagen, Pastor Randy Mortenson, SBHE member Greg Stemen, keynote speaker Dawn Cruff, and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Keith Stenehjem.

Second: Mayville State’s emeritus faculty members who participated in the commencement ceremony were (l-r) Dr. Ray Gerszewski, Dr. Paul Batesel, Dr. Rick Holman, Dr. Ron Semmens, Dr. Merwin Lyng, and Dr. Carol Enger.

Third: Anthony Stockfish was a student speaker at the 2017 commencement ceremony. Stockfish will complete the requirements for a Bachelor of Science degree at the end of the fall semester of 2017.

brunch_speakers-web.jpgFourth: Kristin Reinowski spoke on behalf of the class at the May 13 commencement ceremony. Kristin will finish the requirements for a Bachelor of Science in Education degree at the conclusion of the fall semester of 2017.

Fifth: Pictured from left to right are the graduates who spoke at the brunch held the morning of graduation day: Erin Olson, Louis Bongiovanni, and Taylor Benneweis.

Bottom: Nicholas Xalis, Palm Desert, Calif., is congratulated by President Hagen (right).