alpha_phi_sigma_04-22-2015-web.jpgThe newest members of Mayville State University’s Omicron Chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma were inducted Wednesday, April 22, 2015. Chapter officers, Sarah Gandari, president; Amber Sandmeyer, vice president; Taylor Palmer, secretary; Dane Henke, treasurer; and faculty sponsor Dr. John Pederson led the ceremony.

Alpha Phi Sigma is an honor society which requires that students have an institutional and cumulative grade point average of 3.50 and junior standing in order to be eligible for membership. Alpha, the first letter of the Greek alphabet, signifies the beginning of the search for the true values of life; Phi, the love of learning; and Sigma, service to mankind. The motto of Alpha Phi Sigma is “Joy, Vision, and Service.”

Following the April 22 new member induction, the Omicron Chapter officers for 2015-2016 were elected. They are Allyson Durkin, president; Brett Bachmeier, secretary; and Marley Papenfuss, treasurer.

Photo Caption:

Back row (left to right):  Brett Bachmeier, Mayville, N.D.; Brady Eichelberger, Lakota, N.D.; faculty sponsor John Pederson; Kyle Frazier, Anchorage, Alaska; Katelyn Ogburn, Mayville, N.D.; and Dane Henke, Cando, N.D.

Middle (left to right): Sarah Gandari, Harare, Zimbabwe; Taylor Palmer, Sharon, N.D.; Sarah Battle, Clifford, N.D.; Amber Sandmeyer, Eagle Bend, Minn.; and Kaitlynn Wilson, Greenbush, Minn.

Front Row (left to right): Emily Laturnus, Cando, N.D.; Allyson Durkin, Inkster, N.D.; Marley Papenfuss, Portland, N.D.; Jennifer Wittmayer, Grand Forks, N.D.; and Grace Keller, Karlsruhe, N.D.