Kohls.jpgNovember 15, 2022

The annual MSU Foundation Honor Society President’s Dinner, held Wednesday evening, Nov. 9, 2022, gave tribute to many of Mayville State’s generous and faithful philanthropists. The Honor Society includes those who have made lifetime cumulative gifts amounting to $10,000 or more through the MSU Foundation. Gifts include contributions to all projects at Mayville State, including academic scholarships, facility improvements, Comet Athletic Club, Music Makers, and more.

“It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to recognize the members of the Honor Society and to thank them for their outstanding support that is so critical to the well-being of Mayville State University,” said Mayville State University President Dr. Brian Van Horn.

The Honor Society is organized into clubs based on various giving levels. The Bronze Club includes donors of $10,000-$24,999; the Silver Club, donors of $25,000-$49,999; the Gold Club, donors of $50,000-$99,999; the Platinum Club, donors of DECA.jpg$100,000-$249,999; the Diamond Club, donors of $250,000-$499,999; the Ambassador Club, donors of $500,000-$749,999; the Legacy Club, donors of $750,000-$999,999; and the Founder, donors of $1,000,000 and more.

The honor roll currently includes more than 250 benefactors, including individuals, couples, businesses, matching gift programs, and other organizations, who have given a cumulative total of $10,000 or more over the years.

This year, several new members joined the Bronze Club. They are Adam and Ashley Erickson, Finley Motors, Inc., Jodi and Lance Fugleberg, Donn and Beth Hanson, Randall and Barbara Hill, Mark and Emilie Kloster, Neil and Kathryn Lerfald, Christopher and Sandra Lindberg, and James Lipsiea.

Dakota Medical Foundation, Karl Hella, Martin and Diane Johnson, Joy McLain, Don and Juneal Moen, Doug and Cindy Moen.jpgPetersen, Janice Sand, and Xcel Energy moved up to the Silver Club. VFW-Portland, Paul and Sarah Batesel, Scott and Shari Berry, Robert Brown, Brent and Jennifer Kohls, Garry and Karen Pierce, and Larry and Cathy Lande went up to the Gold Club; Tim Garrett, Wayne and Darlene Garrett, and Jeffrey and Lee Ann Strand joined the Platinum Club; and Lowell and Cynthia Nelson and Merwin and Myrna Lyng moved into the Diamond Club. Terry Bachmeier and the Comet Athletic Club advanced to the Legacy Club.  

“We are so very fortunate to be blessed with loyal alumni and friends who truly care about Mayville State University and who give of their financial and other resources to support the university,” said MSU Foundation Executive Director Lon Jorgensen. “This steadfast support is crucial to Mayville State’s success.”

The 2022 Honor Society president’s dinner was sponsored by Bell Bank Wealth Management.

If you’d like to make a financial contribution to Mayville State University or are interested in learning more about the MSU Foundation Honor Society, please call the MSU Lyng.jpgFoundation at 701-788-4687.  

Photo captions 

Top: Mayville State junior, Julia Kohls, spoke to those who attended the Honor Society dinner about the impact their generosity is having on the students of Mayville State University. She is pictured here with her parents, Jennifer and Brent, who were recognized for reaching the Gold Club level of the Honor Society during 2021-22. Pictured from left to right are MSU President Dr. Brian Van Horn, Jennifer Kohls, Brent Kohls, and Julia Kohls.

Second: Mayville State University students assisted with the Nov. 9 event. Photographed here are members of the Collegiate DECA chapter who ran the coat check. Members of the Student Education Association assisted as servers of the meal which was prepared by Mayville State Dining Services.

Third: Pictured from left to right are Don Moen, Juneal Moen, and MSU President Dr. Brian Van Horn. The Moens are new members of the MSU Foundation Honor Society Silver Club.

Bottom: Pictured from left to right are Myrna Lyng, Dr. Merwin Lyng, and MSU President Dr. Brian Van Horn. The Lyngs have now joined the Diamond Club of the MSU Foundation Honor Society.