The Orville Johnson Meritorious Service Award is an annual award given to a classified staff member who shows outstanding dedication, loyalty, and trustworthiness toward Mayville State University and their fellow employees.

Orville Johnson is remembered as a faithful employee who worked as a custodian from 1959 until his retirement in 1980. Orville passed away on December 17, 1986. Upon his death, his family donated his United States Service Flag and a $10,000 donation. The donation was to help honor and recognize fellow employees.

Each year staff nominate and vote on a fellow employee to receive the distinguished award. The recipient of this award is honored at the annual Employee Recognition Dinner and receives their name engraved on the Orville Johnson Plaque (located in the lobby of the Campus Center), a framed award certificate and a $75.00 gift certificate to the bookstore. 



2020: Cheryl Angen

2019: Lois Karlstad

2018: Misti Wuori

2017: Rick Karboviak

2016: Alice Rice

2015: Marjorie Fugleberg

2014: Lou Ann Dauphanais

2013: Beverly Holt

2012: Tom Moen

2011: Bryan Karolus

2010: Dean Kostuck

2009: Claudia Hastings

2008: Nancy Galde

2007: Rendi Johnson-Ebach

2006: Beth Swenson

2005: Jim Lyng

2004: Andrea Knudson

2003: Janice Jorgenen

2002: Beverly Holt

2001: Becky Edinger

2000: Janice Strand

1999: Marina "Winky" Gummer

1998: Karoline Jacobson

1997: Brad Papenfuss

1996: Rodney Gunderson

1995: Janet Nielson

1994: Ken Eken

1993: Tom Moen

1992: Betty Karaim

1991: Avis Larson

1990: Vrenda Bengston

1989: Phyllis Dakken

1988: T. Howard Moen

1987: Art Berglie