MAYVILLE STATE UNIVERSITY FACULTY ASSOCIATION AND SENATE CONSTITUTION

Article XI. Standing Committee on Faculty Rights

Section A. Purpose

The Standing Committee on Faculty Rights is the formal hearing committee for faculty grievances regarding issues of academic freedom, tenure, academic appointments, and dismissal as outlined in SBHE policy 605. The chair is elected annually by the membership from among their own number.

Section B. Membership

The membership of the committee shall consist of five tenured members of the Faculty Association, one from each division, serving five-year terms at staggered intervals. Each division shall elect their respective member. If an academic division does not have an eligible candidate for membership then this division may elect a tenured faculty member from another division to serve as their representative until a member of the unrepresented division is eligible or the five-year term is fulfilled. Division chairs, administrative officers, staff, and students are not eligible to serve on this committee.

Section C. Procedures

The duties of this committee are determined by the North Dakota State Board of Higher Education Regulations on Academic Freedom, Tenure, and Due Process.

Section D. Meetings

As necessary.