LGBTQ+ Programming

LGBTQ Programming

Logo.jpg

The “Safe Zone” symbol is a message to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer people and their allies. The message is that the person displaying this symbol is understanding, supportive and trustworthy if a lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender person needs help, advice or just someone with whom s/he can talk. The person displaying this symbol can also give accurate information about sexual orientation and/or gender identity.

Our Mission

The mission of the Safe Zone Ally Program is to provide a network of safe and supportive allies to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer community at Mayville State University.

Our Goal

The Safe Zone Ally Program responds to the needs of the Mayville State University community. The goal of this program is to provide a welcoming environment for lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender persons by establishing an identifiable network of supportive persons who can provide support, information, and a safe place for LGBT persons within our campus community. Those who have committed to being Safe Zone Allies indicate that bigotry and discrimination, specifically regarding LGBT persons, are not tolerated.

 

Please contact the Office of Diversity and Inclusion for more information regarding resources for our LGBTQ community.

2016-02-04_10.31.29.jpg

On February 4th, 2016, MSU hosted Safe Zone Training Level 1 and 2. The training was conducted by Dr. Kara Gravley-Stack. Dr. Gravley-Stack is the Director of Diversity Initiatives, and LGBTQ Program Coordinator at NDSU. MSU has 27 faculty and staff who are certified Level 1 and 2. 

Our Allies are:

 

Name

Role On campus

Email

Phone Number

Andrea Dulski-Bucholz

Division Chair-Education & Psychology/Assistant Professor of Education

andrea.dulskibucholz@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4833

Adam Edwards

Asst. Director of Student Life-Housing/Agassiz Hall Director

adam.edwards@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4822

Shannon Hofer

Librarian

shannon.hofer@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4815

Maren Allison Johnson

Executive Director-Child Development Programs/ Grants Office Director

allison.johnson.3@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4743

Connie Kaldor

Transfer Specialist, Articulation Agreement Manager, Assistant Director-Enroll. Services

connie.kaldor@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4721

Rick Karboviak

Admissions Recruiter

richard.karboviak@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-5266

Kate Keating-Peterson

Division of Education & Psychology–Assistant Professor of Education

katharine.keating@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4821

Aaron Kingsbury

Liberal Arts-Assistant Professor of Geography

aaron.kingsbury@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4809

Kristi Lentz

Director of Counseling and Freshmen Retention

kristi.lentz@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4772

Aubrey Madler

Assistant Library Director/ Coordinator of Technical Services

aubrey.madler@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4814

Joseph Mehus

Division of Science and Mathematics–Assistant Professor of Biology/INBRE Researcher

joseph.mehus@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4802

James Morowski

Director of Admissions

james.morowski@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4619

Debi O’Brien

Admissions Administrative Assistant

debra.obrien@mayvilestate.edu

701-788-4842

Mindy O’Connor

Admissions Coordinator/Veterans Certifying Official

mindy.oconnor@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4635

Jon Nygard

Berg Residence Hall Director/Campus Security

jon.nygard@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-5238

Carmen Peña

Admissions Recruiter

maria.pena@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4612

Steven Petherbridge

English/Communications Instructor

steven.petherbridge@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-5270

Andrew Pflipsen

Vice President for Student Affairs

andrew.pflipsen@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4770

Jeffrey Powell

Director of Student Life

jeffrey.powell@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4697

Katie Richards

Director of Student Success and Disabilities Services

katie.richards.2@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4675

Kayla Smith

Director of Student Placement/Data Management Coordinator-Education & Psychology Division

kayla.d.smith@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4827

Lonamalia Smith

Assistant Professor of Sociology-Liberal Arts

lona.smith@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4812

Dina Zavala-Petherbridge

Director of Cultural Diversity and Inclusion

dina.petherbridge@mayvillestate.edu

701-788-4710